College announces honorary commencement speakers

Posted by Bradley Morris

The college has recently announced that Colin E. Greene, James M. McPherson and Anne Bogart will be the featured speakers at the 2011 commencement ceremonies. Additional commencement speakers will include Erica Bastress-Dukehart, professor of history, Libby Gronquist ‘11, senior class president, and President of the College Philip A. Glotzbach.

Colin E. Greene is a member of the Board of Education International, a leader for equitable access to quality education in developing countries and principal of the largest secondary school in Antigua.

James M. McPherson is the George Henry Davis '86 professor of American History Emeritus at Princeton University, and a Pulitzer Prize winning author.

Anne Bogart is an American theater director and co-founder and artistic director of the SITI Company with an emphasis on international cultural exchange and collaboration.

Each year, the Skidmore Board of Trustees chooses the honorary speakers. The board awards honorary degrees to those who have demonstrated "exemplary artistic, intellectual, scientific or humanitarian achievement or who have made outstanding contributions to Skidmore College," Gronquist said.

President Glotzbach also invites members of the Skidmore community to suggest possible honorary degree candidates for the following year's commencement.

"From these nominations, the Board of Trustees, on the recommendation of the president and the Trusteeship Committee, votes to confer these degrees," Gronquist said.

Prior to consideration by the Board, the Committee on Appointments, Promotions and Tenure reviews nominations.

The selection process for the professor speaker at commencement takes less time and uses a different process. Unlike the final selection for the honorary speakers, which the students do not get to vote on, the professor speaking is chosen by the seniors.

"The professor is chosen via [write-in] nominations and survey of the senior class after the nominations are counted," Gronquist said.

Commencement will be held on Saturday, May 21 at 10:40 a.m.

Fight Club demonstrates in D-Hall

Plagiarism surveyed at Skidmore